Express Rail Link in Hong Kong

The location of the West Kowloon Station of Express Rail Link

The Regional Express Line envisaged in the Railway Development Strategy 2000 proposed by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government (HKSAR Government), has now become the Hong Kong section of the Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link (Express Rail Link). In April 2008, the HKSAR Government asked the MTR Corporation to carry out further planning and design of the Express Rail Link. Subsequently, the HKSAR Government gazetted the Scheme for the Express Rail Link under the Railways Ordinance to collect public views.

On 20 October 2009, the Chief Executive in Council authorized the Scheme and the Amendments of the Scheme of the Express Rail Link. On 16 January 2010, the Finance Committee of the Legislative Council approved the funding application for the construction of the Express Rail Link. The construction commenced in late January 2010 with the target service commissioning in September 2018.

The 26-km Express Rail Link is vitally important to Hong Kong. It will link Hong Kong with major Mainland cities with significantly reduced travelling times. The project will reinforce Hong Kong as the southern gateway of the Mainland. It will play an unparalleled role in fostering closer social and economic ties between Hong Kong and the Mainland, injecting momentum and creating new opportunities for future development in the medium and longer term.

The alignment of the Express Rail Link

For the Project Details of the Express Rail Link, please .

For the information on the public consultations on the Express Rail Link Project, please .

For information on Express Rail Link's frequency and capacity, and its connection to the Mainland, please .




For the papers on the Express Rail Link, please.

Other New Railway Projects in Hong Kong

香港的高鐵

高鐵香港段西九龍站位置圖

早於2000年,香港特別行政區政府的《鐵路發展策略2000》規劃內已提出興建高鐵香港段(初期稱為區域快綫)。政府在2008年4月批准由港鐵公司進行高鐵香港段項目的進一步規劃和設計工作,其後根據《鐵路條例》在憲報刊登高鐵香港段的方案及修訂方案,收集公眾意見。

行政長官會同行政會議於2009年10月20日批准高鐵香港段的方案及修訂方案,立法會財務委員會在2010年1月16日通過撥款興建高鐵香港段。高鐵香港段項目已於2010年1月底展開,預期目標完工日期為2018年第三季。

全長26公里的高鐵香港段對香港的發展十分重要,它將大幅縮短往來香港及內地主要城市的行車時間,鞏固香港作為中國南大門的策略性地位,加強香港與內地的社會及經濟聯繫,為香港未來的中、長期發展注入動力及創造新的機會。

有關高鐵香港段的項目資料

有關高鐵香港段的公眾諮詢資料

有關高鐵香港段與內地接軌、班次及載客量等資料

高鐵香港段走綫圖




有關高鐵香港段的官方文件,

香港其他新鐵路項目